Countries removed from the Travel corridor list

The Government has announced that the following countries will be removed from the UK Travel corridor list:

  • Canary Islands

People arriving in the UK from the Canary Islands  from Saturday 12 December 2020 will need to self-isolate for 2 weeks as the Canary Islands are removed from the travel corridor list.

From 15 December, passengers arriving into the UK from countries not featured on the Government’s travel corridor list – including the Canary Islands – will have the option to take a test from a private provider after 5 days of self-isolation, with a negative test result releasing them from the need to self-isolate.

Ministers’ decision to remove the Canary Islands from the list of travel corridors has been based on a sharp increase in test positivity, currently at 7.1% for the Canaries collectively and 8.8% for the island of Tenerife.

A range of factors are taken into account when deciding to remove a country from the travel corridor list, including the continued increase of coronavirus (COVID-19) within a country, the numbers of new cases, imported cases, information on a country’s testing capacity, testing regime and test positivity rate.